Source: Canadian Museum of Civilization

 Return to My Ancestors

Beginning of a colony

 

Personalities

Louis Hébert (about 1575-1627)

 

In 1617, this Parisian apothecary settled in Quebec with his family.  His knowledge of pharmacology was widely appreciated; his desire to become a farmer was less encouraged.  During the following year, Samuel de Champlain – the founder of Quebec and a strong believer in Hébert’s project – was overjoyed to see farmlands flourishing with vegetables and grains.  Hébert’s efforts earned him the title of “first colonist” of New France.

Jean Talon (1626-1694)

 

In 1665, Louis XIV appointed Jean Talon as the first Intendant of New France, giving him administrative responsibility for a colony that had been weakened by strong Iroquois resistance to the settlements.  Intendant Talon concentrated first on consolidating defense and judicial services, later turning his attention to colonization projects.  Within five years, he had contributed greatly to agricultural diversity in New France, enabling the colony to become a self-sufficient trading region.

Samuel de Champlain (about 1570-1635)

 

Champlain, who founded Quebec City in 1608, is also known as the “Father of New France”.  He was a cartographer, an explorer and, for a time, governor of the colony.  His travels into present-day Quebec, Ontario, New York, Ohio and Michigan laid French claim to much of North America.  This helped establish a vast trading network and strategic route which was used by Europeans for more than two centuries.

 

General James Wolfe(ca.1727-1759)

Marquis de Montcalm (1712-1759)

 

At the beginning of May 1759, Britain’s General James Wolfe and his army sailed up the St. Lawrence River to the àŽle d’Orléans, below Quebec City, where Louis-Joseph Marquis de Montcalm led New France’s defenses. On the night of September 12th, following a long and unsuccessful siege, Wolfe launched a desperate surprise attack.  Quebec would fall by morning.  Both Wolfe and Montcalm were mortally wounded.  This British victory, known as The Battle of the Plains of Abraham, marked the imminent collapse of France’s North American empire.

 

Pierre-Esprit Radisson (ca. 1640-1710)

Médard Chouart Des Groseillers (1625-1685)

 

In 1659-1660, Radisson and his brother-in-law Des Groseillers – both of whom were voyageurs and coureurs des bois – journeyed through the unexplored regions east and south of Lake Superior.  When the two men returned to Three Rivers, the pelts they had collected were confiscated by colonial administrators.  Angered by this, Radisson and Des Groseillers began doing business with the English, which led to their later exploration of the Hudson Bay region – a vast area rich in fur.

Thanadelthur (ca.1713)

 

Thanadelthur, well-respected guide and interpreter for the Hudson’s Bay Company, was a member of the Chipewyan First Nation.  Around 1712, she was captured by the Cree, fur-trade rivals of the Chipewyan, but escaped within a year.  Her knowledge and her negotiating skills put Thanadelthur in the forefront of a three-way peace between the Company, the Cree and the Chipewyan.

 

 

Other informations

Click on your choice

 

Beginning of a colony

Moving around

Appearance

Cities

Land Distribution

Justice

Overtaking the New France

Commerce

First industries

Food

Acadians

Road to the U.S

Heath

Education

Culture

Religion

 

 Return to My Ancestors

 

 

© 2018 Mes Ancêtres

Source : Musée canadien des civilisations

Retour à  la page Mes ancêtres

 

Début d’une colonie

 

 

Personnalités

Louis Hébert (vers 1575-1627)

 

En 1617, cet apothicaire parisien s’établit au poste de Québec avec sa famille.  Bien que son savoir de pharmacien semble des plus appréciés, il en va autrement de ses ambitions de cultivateur.  Toutefois, l’année suivante, Samuel de Champlain, fondateur de Québec, qui croit au projet agricole d’Hébert, est ravi des terres cultivées o๠poussent grains et légumes.  Louis Hébert gagna ainsi le titre de « premier colon Â» de la Nouvelle-France.

 

Jean Talon (1626-1694)

Nommé, en 1665, premier intendant de la Nouvelle-France par son roi, Louis XIV, Talon reçoit la responsabilité administrative d’une colonie affaiblie par les incessantes attaques des Iroquois, opposés à  l’établissement des Français.  Il s’emploie d’abord à  consolider les mesures de défense et les services judiciaires, puis entreprend son travail de colonisateur.  En cinq ans, l’intendant Talon contribue largement aux efforts agricoles en diversifiant la production afin de permettre à  la Nouvelle-France de se suffire à  elle-même et d’établir un systѐme d’échanges commerciaux sur son territoire.

Samuel de Champlain (vers 1570-1635)

 

Fondateur de la ville de Québec en 1608, Champlain est aussi reconnu comme le « Pѐre de la Nouvelle-France Â».  Cartographe, explorateur, il fut pour quelque temps gouverneur de la colonie.  Ses voyages d’exploration à  travers les territoires, qui sont aujourd’hui les province du Québec et de l’Ontario, et les États de New York, de l’Ohio et du Michigan, ont permis à  la France d’élargir ses possessions territoriales en Amérique du Nord, tout en créant un vaste réseau commercial et une route stratégique qu’empruntѐrent les Européens  pendant 200 ans.

 

General James Wolfe(ca.1727-1759)

Marquis de Montcalm (1712-1759)

 

Au début de mai 1759, le général anglais James Wolfe et sa flotte remontent le Saint-Laurent.  Ils s’installent dans l’à®le d’Orléans, prѐs de Québec, là  o๠le marquis Louis Joseph de Montcalm commande les troupes de la Nouvelle-France.  Au soir du 12 septembre, dépité par un siѐge infructueux, Wolfe lance un assaut désespéré sur Québec.  Surpris, Montcalm essuie le lendemain une cuisante défaite.  Les deux généraux sont mortellement blessés.  Cette bataille des plaines d’Abraham allait marquer la fin de l’empire colonial français en Amérique du Nord.

 

Pierre-Esprit Radisson (vers 1640-1710)

Médard Chouart Des Groseillers (1625-1685)

 

En 1659 et 1660, Radisson et son beau-frѐre Des Groseillers, voyageurs et coureurs des bois, partent en expédition vers des régions inexplorées, à  l’est et au sud du lac Supérieur.  De retour à  Trois-Riviѐres, des fonctionnaires confisquent leurs pelleteries.  Offusqués, Radisson et Des Groseillers s’associent avec les Anglais, à  qui ils font découvrir la région de la bais d’Hudson, vaste territoire riche en fourrures.

Thanadelthur (vers 1713)

 

Thanadelthur, guide et interprѐte respectée de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson, était membre de la Premiѐre Nation chipéwyanne.  Vers 1712, elle fut capturée par des Cris, rivaux des Chipéwyans dans la traite des fourrures, mais s’échappa moins d’un an plus tard.  Son savoir et ses talents de négociatrice lui permirent de jouer un rà´le de premier plan dans une paix tripartite entre la Compagnie, les Cris et les Chipéwyans.

 

Autres informations

Cliquez sur votre choix

Début de la colonie

Déplacements

Apparence

Villes

Distribution des terres

Justice

Occupation de la Nouvelle-France,

Commerçants,

Premiѐres industries

Nourriture

Acadiens

Routes vers les Etats-Unis

Santé

Instruction

Culture

Religion

 

Retour à  la page Mes ancêtres

 

© 2017 Mes Ancêtres