Source: Canadian Museum of Civilization

 Return to My Ancestors

Beginning of a colony

 

 

Food

The first immigrants survived on the hardtack bread, salted meat and salt fish they brought from France.  Monotony and hunger led them to try local foods in the new land such as corn, squash, game, fish and wild fruits.

 

As soon as practical, however, colonists resumed their French diet.  Bread made from wheat flour was a staple, as in the Old Country.  Gardens provided some variety in beans, cabbage, turnips, onions, lettuce and herbs.  Imported and local livestock supplied plenty of pork and beef.  Eel, salt cod and freshwater fish were served on the meatless days decreed by the Church.

 

As in France, bread was the staple of every meal.  The higher the social rank, the lighter the bread: so wealthy habitants ate white bread.

 

Around 1690, bakers in Quebec City offered three kinds of bread: white bread made with fine wheat flour; brownish-grey bread made from unrefined flour (pain blanc bis); and dark bread containing bran.  In 1700, the governing sovereign Council (Conseil souverain) adopted a regulation that bakers must always have “white and brownish-grey bread in their shops”.

 

For several centuries before the arrival of the French, Aboriginal peoples had cultivated maize, or Indian corn.  The colonist learned to plant this crop on newly cleared land, and it suppplemented their diet.

 

Maize was popular with the voyageurs because it was easy to get from Aboriginal peoples at trading posts and missions.

Handmade coffee mill (1750-1800)

 

In Montreal and Quebec city, with many bakers and wheat flour available, immigrants preferred traditional French bread. The quantity and variety of food at home depended on personal income.

 

 

 

 

There was pork and beef on every table, while poultry and mutton were sometimes available. In towns, game was occasionally eaten but in rural areas this was an important part of the diet, especially in winter.  Fish was always served on meatless days.

 

Imported items such as wine, sugar and coffee were readily available in towns.  Everyone relied on vegetables from their gardens and tried to be self-sufficient in dairy products, meat and eggs.

 

Most of the colonists came from northwestern France and they preferred the taste of butter over vegetable oils or animals fats, such as suet and lard.

 

Fish – especially eel, cod and salmon – was served on the two or three meatless days each week.  Eggs and dairy products were also permitted on those days, but they were banned during Lent and other special fast decreed by the Church.

 

Salted meat and salt fish could be preserved for a long time.  Gruyere and Dutch cheeses were first imported, but after 1710 local cheeses became available.

 

Three-quarters of the population lived in the country.  Baron de Lahontan, an officer stationed in New France (1683-1693) observed that « â€¦the peasants there live more comfortably than an infinite number of gentlemen in France.  It is wrong of me to call them peasants; one must habitants… Â»

 

The growing season lasted four to five months.  Around the beginning of May, the habitants ploughed the soil and prepared it for sowing.  Continuous good weather was a miracle, as there could be frost at any time.  Drought, hail or too much rain could ruin everything.  Work schedules were all organized around the wheat harvest, which could make or break the habitants.

 

Legume beans and string beans, commonly called «peas», where the second most important crop.  The habitants also grew vegetables and raised livestock.

 

 

Wheat took up 75% of the land being farmed. Peas and oars were a distant second.  Corn, barley and rye were marginal crops.  The dominance of wheat had disastrous effects if the harvest was bad; the poor suffered greatly when there was a shortage of food.

 

New France had 76 flour mills.  This was a vast territory, so agricultural conditions varied from one area to another.  Livestock breeding was important in the west but in the east people relied more on fishing.

 

By the end of the 17th century, the habitants often ate better than ordinary people in France.  Abundant local produce was supplemented by imports.  Table manners gradually improved.  Cookbooks were shared.  Chefs and innkeepers influenced taste and cuisine.

 

 

Other informations

Click on your choice

 

Beginning of a colony

Moving around

Appearance

Cities

Land Distribution

Justice

Overtaking the New France

Commerce

First industries

Personalities

Acadians

Road to the U.S

Heath

Education

Culture

Religion

 

 

 

 

 Return to My Ancestors

 

© 2018 Mes Ancêtres

Source : Musée canadien des civilisations

Retour à  la page Mes ancêtres

 

Début d’une colonie

 

 

Nourriture

 

Les premiers immigrants se contentent des vivres qu’ils apportent avec eux : pain, biscuit, viande et poisson salés.  Monotonie et privation incitent toutefois à  la découverte des aliments du nouveau pays : maà¯s, courges, gibiers, poissons et fruits sauvages.

 

Dѐs que les conditions le permettent, les colons reprennent leurs habitudes alimentaires françaises.  Le pain de blé s’impose comme au vieux pays.  Les jardins offrent un peu de variété : fѐves, choux, navets, oignons, laitues et fines herbes.  L’importation puis l’élevage fournissent lard et bÅ“uf en quantité.  Anguille, morue salée et poissons d’eau douce comblent les jours d’abstinence imposés par l’Église catholique.

 

Comme en France, le pain de froment (le meilleur blé) est l’aliment de base de tout repas.  La couleur du pain s’éclaircit au fut et à  mesure que l’on monte dans la hiérarchie sociale : les habitants prospѐres mangent leur pain blanc quotidien.

 

Vers 1690, les boulangers de Québec offrent trois types de pains : pain blanc de fleur de farine de blé, pain blanc bis (gris) de farine grossiѐre et pain sombre avec son.  En 1700, un rѐglement du Conseil souverain exige des boulangers qu’ils aient, en tout temps, « leurs boutiques garnies de pains blanc et bis».

Le maà¯s, ou blé d’Inde, est cultivé par les Amérindiens plusieurs siѐcles avant l’arrivée des Français.  Les colons l’adoptent comme aliment complémentaire et le cultivent sur les terres nouvellement défrichées. Comme dans le nord de la France, on adopte la charrue à  roues pour le labourage.   On en compte environ 300 entre 1650 et 1700.

Le maà¯s est un aliment recherché des voyageurs, car il est facile de s’en procurer auprѐs des Amérindiens, dans les postes de traite et les missions. 

Moulin à  café de fabrication artisanale (1750-1800)

 

à€ Montréal et à  Québec, là  o๠les boulangers sont nombreux et la farine de froment accessibles, les Français préfѐrent le pain de blé.

 

 

Les provisions sont plus ou moins abondantes et variées selon la richesse des individus.  Les viandes de porc et de bÅ“uf sont sur toutes les tables.  Volailles et moutons y apparaissent parfois et les poissons s’imposent les jours d’abstinence.  Le gibier s’ajoute occasionnellement au menu des citadins, tandis qu’il est un apport important au régime du campagnard, surtout pendant l’hiver.

 

Les citadins se procurent plus facilement les aliments importés, tels le vin, le sucre et le café.  Tous comptent sur les légumes du jardin et tendent à  une certaine autosuffisance en matiѐre de laitages, de viandes et d’Å“ufs.

 

La population affirme ses origines, majoritairement du Nord-ouest de la France, par ses gras préférés.  Le beurre domine les graisses animales –suif et saindoux- et les huiles végétales.

 

Les poissons, surtout l’anguille, la morue et le saumon, sont au menu deux ou trois jours maigres ou d’abstinence par semaine.  Ces jours-là , les laitages et les Å“ufs sont permis, mais ils sont proscrits pendant le carême et les jours de jeà»ne imposés par l’Église.

 

Les salaisons permettent de conserver viandes et poissons longtemps.  On importe gruyѐres et fromages de Hollande et, aprѐs 1710, on peut se procurer des fromages du pays.

 

Les trois-quarts de la population vivent à  la campagne.  Le baron de Lahontan, un officier en garnison en Nouvelle-France (1683-1693), remarque que « â€¦les paysans y vivent plus commodément qu’une infinité de gentilshommes en France Â», ajoutant cette précision : « Quand je dis paysans, je me trompe, il faut dire habitants… Â»

 

L’habitant dispose d’une saison productive de quatre à  cinq mois.  Vers le début de mai, il laboure et prépare la terre pour les semailles.  Il faut des miracles continuels de beau temps, car le gel peut survenir à  tout moment.  Les pluies trop abondantes, la sécheresse ou la grêle peuvent tout ruiner.  Tous les travaux et la main-d’Å“uvre sont organisés en fonction de la récolte du blé qui fait la fortune ou la misѐre de l’habitant.

 

Les fѐves et les haricots communément appelés « pois Â», constituent la seconde récolte en importance.  Les légumes du potager et les animaux d’élevage complѐtent la production de l’habitant.

 

Le blé occupe 75% des superficies cultivées.  Les pois et l’avoine viennent en second, loin derriѐre.  Le maà¯s, l’orge et le seigle sont des cultures marginales.  Cette prédominance du blé entraà®ne des conséquences désastreuses en cas de mauvaises récoltes : la disette frappe durement les plus pauvres.

 

On dénombre 76 moulins à  farine en Nouvelle France.  Cet immense territoire offre différents milieux o๠les conditions sont plus ou moins propices à  l’agriculture.  L’élevage prend plus d’importance à  l’ouest qu’à  l’est, o๠l’on compte davantage sur la pêche.

 

Dѐs la fin du XVIIe siѐcle, la table de l’habitant est souvent mieux garnie qu’en France.  Les produits du pays abondent et les importations sont variées.  Les maniѐres de table s’affient graduellement.  Les livres de cuisine circulent et cuisiniers et aubergistes influencent les goà»ts et les pratiques culinaires.

 

Autres informations

Cliquez sur votre choix

Début de la colonie

Déplacements

Apparence

Villes

Distribution des terres

Justice

Occupation de la Nouvelle-France,

Commerçants,

Premiѐres industries

Personnalités

Acadiens

Routes vers les Etats-Unis

Santé

Instruction

Culture

Religion

 

 

 

 

Retour à  la page Mes ancêtres

 

© 2017 Mes Ancêtres