Source: Canadian Museum of Civilization

 Return to My Ancestors

Beginning of a colony

 

 

The Norse were the first Europeans to land on the shores of North America.  Much later, others came to hunt whales, fish for cod and explore the continent, which had been home to the Indians for over 10,000 years.

 

Thanks to the knorr – a ship constructed for crossing the North Atlantic – the Norse began a gradual migration from Norway during the ninth century that finally brought them to America via Iceland and Greenland.  Their sagas provide us with epic accounts of those voyages.

Around the year 1,000, descendants of Icelandic and Greenland colonists reached Épaves Bay on the coast of Newfoundland.  They settled at the site new known as the National Historic Park of L’Anse aux Meadows. The remains at this archaeological site constitute the only physical evidence of the Norse presence in North America.

 

New France is the North American territory that was little explored, sparsely settled, strongly defended and claimed in the name of the French monarch.  France spread its influence through a fur trading company, and then via a colonial government created by Louis XIV.  The French built a series of forts and towns that ultimately hemmed in the thirteen English colonies.  They also established the seigniorial system of land tenure, structured the Catholic Church and built up a thriving mercantile trade with France.

 

British, Spanish and Portuguese came to their colonies in the Americas in large numbers, but the French mostly stayed home in Europe.  The French government opposed a major transfer of its population to the new settlements.  The fur trade, key to the colonial economy, did not require a large labor force.  The harsh climate and wars with the Iroquois further discouraged immigration.

 

Of the 33,000 French individuals who came to the new land, only about 11,500 decided to settle after their term of service.  They were mainly soldiers and contract workers (engages).  Women accounted for barely 12 % of the immigrants who remained.

 

Population grew slowly.  In 1760, there were 85,000 French people in the colony, and they were mainly descendants of the original settles.  Most francophone in North America today count the first settlers as their own ancestors.

 

The French merchant marine grew from 750 ships in 1688 to 1,800 in 1738.  Colonial trade increased swiftly.  Businessmen wanted more information from the colonies at shorter intervals, so they wrote more letters.

 

In the absence of an official transatlantic postal service, merchants devised ways of managing the mail.  They were successful in overcoming the seasonal problems and the hazards of ocean navigation.  No matter what, Bordeaux, Louisbourg and Quebec City kept in constant touch.

 

Shipping and the fishery were the mainstays of Louisburg’s economy.  The city was a clearing house for Atlantic trade and communication, and ships could call there 12 months a year.  Mail for Quebec City could arrive from France via Louisbourg aboard a small Canadian owned schooner in the summer and by overland trek in winter.  The winter mails were not fast, but they were most welcome.  One such mail left La Rochelle on November 6th 1756 and reached Louisbourg on January 30th.  Four days later, on February 3rd, it was sent on to Quebec City, arriving there in April.  Quebeckers could savor fresh news that was six months old.

 

Abraham Gradis (1699-1780), a Bordeaux merchant, was active throughout the transatlantic economy, from Canada and Louisbourg in the north to the French Caribbean islands in the south.  His company supplied the king’s stores in Canada.  Without a constant stream of correspondence carried by ocean going vessels to distribute money, advice, gifts and merchandise, Gradis could never have kept on top of his affairs from his base in France.  François Bigot, the Intendant of New France, was among his partners.

 

The Gulf of St. Lawrence was the gullet of Canada.  During the summer, ships sailed through on the way to and from Quebec City.  In the winter, the St. Lawrence was closed to navigation.  The last ships to leave Quebec City did so late in October.  The first ones to arrive made it to Cap Diamant in June or July.  As a rule there was no mail in winter, although there were exceptions.

 

 

The American War of Independence (1775-1783) shattered the first British Empire, but the immediate effect of this revolution on Canada was a surge in population.  Quebec, Ontario, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia were flooded with refugees loyal to Britain.  Quebec was split in two: Upper Canada became largely British and Protestant, while Lower Canada remained primarily French and Catholic.

 

Moving around

 

 

 

People in New France walked extensively.  Those who lived in towns generally got around on foot, while travel through the forests involved long hikes and portages.  Outside the towns, in the 17th century, the road network followed Aboriginal trails or the paths that linked houses spread along river banks.

 

The first major land route, the chemin du roy (King’s Road), from Quebec City to Montreal, was not completed until the 1730s.  Colonial authorities considered this road essential for trade and settlement.  It reduced travel time between the two towns by half – four days by road instead of eight days by water.

 

When roads were built, habitants had to clear the section of their property through which the road passed.  They also participated in work parties.  Some refused, claiming that a canoe was all they needed to get to market or church.

 

One of the Stallions that Louis the Great had sent over to New France with sixty beautiful Mares.

  

The first horses were apparently brought over from the region of Perche, France.  In towns, they were used mainly by cart drivers and the elite.  In the country, they were used as draught animals and for outings.  Horses became so popular that colonial authorities tried to limit their number because they consumed food intended for cows and were thought to make people lazy.

 

Beginning in 1697, a royal messenger carried royal dispatches between Quebec City and Montreal, a main axis of communication in the colony.  Pedro Dasilva, also known as The Portuguese, was the first to occupy this position.  He was succeeded by his son-in-law, Jean Moran.

 

Letters were frequently carried from place to place by Aboriginal messengers who knew the country thoroughly.

 

Aboriginal messengers had strong legs and light canoes.  Hired to carry all the news – good and bad, spoken and written, legal and illegal – they traveled along the main continental trails between Canada and points east, west and south of the colony.

 

Appearance

In the 17th and 18th centuries the idea of cleanliness was expressed through personal appearance, especially in clothing, wigs and cosmetics.

 

Wealthy people showed off their extensive wardrobes.  They changed their undershirts often, as these were worn to absorb sweat and remove grime.  A variety of perfumes were used on their bodies, clothing, wigs, handkerchiefs, lace and gloves.  The fragrances covered up the strong odors resulting from poor personal cleanliness.

 

Most people could not afford elaborate clothing or stylish accessories.  They usually wore the same clothes for long periods.  Their personal odors were part of social life – the human perfume of the time.

 

 In this drawing by Basi Hall, this voyageur’ hair accompanying Captain Franklin, we notice that hair was worn braided or long and loose, and people usually just combed it and removed the lice.

 

Because of the harsh climate and frequent outdoor travel, immigrants began to wear more practical clothes.  By 1660, men were dressing “Canadian style”.  They adopted clothing worn by seamen (mittens, caps and woolen overcoats) and by Aboriginal peoples (moccasins, boots and leggings, often made of European fabric and leather).

Women tended to retain their French styles and clothing because their work was mainly indoors.  Proud and stylish, they kept up to date with French fashion trends. In the 18th century, plain fabrics were replaced by the bright colons and linens for sale in the market.

 

This painting presents Huron Woman and Man as they dressed before 1750.  Initially, trade goods such as items of adornment, firearms and hardware appealed most to Aboriginal peoples.  In the eighteenth century, however, textiles became more popular, especially wool cloth (red or blue), woolen blankets and overcoats, serge sleeves and shirts of unbleached linen.

 

…

 

Cities

 

Life was generally lived within the confines of a rural neighborhood (cà´te) containing 10 to 50 homesteads (censives). These extended along the shores of the St. Lawrence like a village street.  News traveled swiftly along the main colonial route, the chemin du roy (King’s Road) and via the delivery system of the king’s messengers.

 

Early settlements grew very slowly in the era of New France.  Many dangers – disease, fire, war, famine – cut repeatedly into the small population.  Survival depended largely upon maintaining close communities, as reflected in this town square.  By the mid-eighteenth century, commercial, residential, military and institutional structures were erected side-by-side, making daily life easier to plan and less hazardous.

 

The towns were focal points of communication where royal announcements were made.  Rumors and letter exchanges started or finished in Montreal and Quebec City, major intersections for information.

 

Towns in New France were the centers of administrative, military, economic and religious power.  The king’s councilors, colonial officials, military officers, court officials, merchants and members of the clergy lived there.  The towns were also the main distribution centers for goods and services.

 

The functions required many support staff.  The largest group, in the service sector, was mainly clerks, domestics and slaves who worked for the elite.  There were cart drivers, pilots, innkeepers, butchers, bakers, doctors and notaries.  Then came the trade’s people, especially artisans in the construction sector, ironworkers and people in the clothing trades.

 

These workers often accounted for over half the population of a town.

 

Land distribution

 

The seigniorial system was the basis of property rights. The king’s representatives allotted seigneuries to the colonial aristocrats or landlords (seigneurs), who granted lands (censives) to the colonists, called censitaires.  The colonists paid the seigneurs an annual fee, the cens.  When land changed hands, the new owner paid a transfer tax as well as the cens and other annual charges.

 

Seigneurs and censitaires had reciprocal rights and obligations as was the case in France.  For example, the seigneur had to build a flour mill and give the seigneur one-fourteenth of the flour as payment.

 

 

This map shows the distribution of the principal seigneuries before 1755.  Over time, these seigneuries were either sold or transferred through inheritance, and sometimes partitioned.  The Chruch and the religious communities possessed the largest, including the Petite-Nation seigneury in the Ottawa Valley that which was granted to Monseigneur de Laval in 1674.

 

Terrier is an old term that refers to land ownership documents and land allocation maps.  The first lots located along the St. Lawrence River were generally divided into parallel strips oriented northwest and southeast.  The impact of these divisions on the local landscape is still evident today.

 

There were exceptions and adjustments along the rivers flowing and adjustments along the rivers flowing into the St. Lawrence (in Three Rivers, for example) and along the Beauport River.  In 1666, Intendant Talon grouped the inhabitants of Bourg-Royal, Bourg-la-Reine and Bourg-Talon (Charlesbourg) into villages laid out in a star shape, providing greater protection from Iroquois attacks.

 

Writing of a letter

 

Writing is a physical exercise.  The hand that moves across the page and smoothes its surface, dips the quill into the inkwell time and again.  Ink is mixed and poured into the inkwell.  Powder is sprinkled on the paper to dry the ink.  Mistakes are scraped off with a sharp-edged eraser.  Was is melted to close the cover securely, and a seal imprint pressed on the soft warm wax finalizes the gesture.

The letter can now begin its journey.

 

France was fortunate to have a postal tradition and rich networks of trade to carry written communication along land routes and waterways.  This was not the case in New France, where roads and established routes were rare.  Travel and communication networks had to be developed here from scratch.

 

In New France, there was no official postal system.  Nevertheless, many letters moved across the Atlantic, up and down the St. Lawrence, and within the continent, thanks to the efforts of writers and travelers, both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal, who ensured that mail reached its destination.

 

The story of communication in New France can be told from various perspectives: the transatlantic connection, continental routes and messengers, and the relay of information along the St. Lawrence.  We begin with the basics of letter writing.

 

La justice

 

In the 18th century, when the justice system was fully in place, it had three levels: high justice, which heard appeals; justice of first instance, which included an ecclesiastical court, an Admiralty court and courts of royal jurisdiction; and, at the bottom of the hierarchy, seigniorial justice, which could submit appeals to the courts of royal jurisdiction.  The courts of royal jurisdiction were the most active because they were located in the principal towns of New France and would hear both civil and criminal cases.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In 1818, the stocks were used to expose wrongdoers to the public in order to damage their reputation.  Occasionally, an iron collar, like the one made at the Forges of St. Maurice, was made at the Forges of St. Maurice, and used around a prisoner’s neck when condemned to public exposure.  Prison doors are from the same period.

 

As in Europe, the administration of justice was meant to serve as a warning.  The punishments – whips, branding irons, iron collars, stocks and hanging – reflect the period’s familiarity with violence, blood and death.

 

Changes were made, however, to create a more accessible and fair system than in France.  Judicial administrative positions were no longer sold as in France.  Lawyers were banned because they were accused of provoking quarrels or delaying proceedings.  Time limits for certain cases were extended to take into account distances and weather.  The absence of witnesses was excused for the same reasons.

 

In spite of these measures, the dream of a better justice system was not fully achieved.  Accused individuals were deprived of advisers or defenders.  People with money could more easily initiate legal action.  Those living in towns had greater access to the justice system, since most courts were located there.

 

Other informations

Click on your choice

 

Overtaking the New France

Commerce

First industries

Food

Personalities

Acadians

Road to the U.S

Heath

Education

Culture

Religion

 

 

 Return to My Ancestors

 

© 2018 Mes Ancêtres

Source : Musée canadien des civilisations

Retour à  la page Mes ancêtres

 

Début d’une colonie

 

 

Les Vikings sont les premiers Européens à  aborder sur les cà´tes de l’Amérique du Nord.  Plus tard, d’autres viendront chasser la baleine, pêcher la morue et explorer ce continent peuplé par les Amérindiens depuis plus de 10,000 ans.

 

Grâce au knorr, un navire construit pour affronter l’Atlantique Nord, des Vikings norvégiens entreprennent une lente migration, au IXe siѐcle, qui les conduira, via l’Islande et le Groenland, jusqu’en Amérique.  Les sagas nous racontent les récits épiques de ces voyages.

Vers l’an mille, quelques descendants des colons d’Islande et du Groenland atteignent la baie des Épaves sur la cà´te de Terre-Neuve.  Ils s’installent sur l’emplacement de l’actuel parc historique national de l’Anse aux Meadows.  Les vestiges de ce site archéologique constituent les seuls témoignages probants de la présence viking sur le continent nord-américains.

 

La Nouvelle-France est un territoire nord-américain peu exploré, peu peuplé, fortement défendu et revendiqué au nom des monarques français.  La France fait rayonner son influence par les activités d’une compagnie de traite de la fourrure, puis sous les auspices d’un gouvernement colonial créé par Louis XIV. Les Français construisent une série de forts et de villages qui cerne finalement les treize colonies anglaises.  Ils établissent également un régime foncier seigneurial, organisent l’Église catholique et jettent les bases d’un commerce mercantile florissant avec la France.

 

Les Français émigrent peu, à  l’inverse de leurs voisins anglais, espagnols et portugais, qui colonisent abondamment leurs territoires américains.  En effet, la France craint de dépeupler son royaume et la fourrure, moteur de l’économie de la colonie, exige peu de main-d’Å“uvre.  Les rigueurs du climat et les guerres iroquoises rebutent aussi les candidats à  l’immigration.

Sur les 33,000 Français qui tentent leur chance, environ 11,500 s’enracinent, surtout des militaires et des engagés qui décident de s’installer au pays aprѐs leur service.  Les femmes représentent à  peine 12% des immigrants qui demeurent au pays.

 

Cette population fondatrice est à  l’origine des 85,000 habitants d’origine française que compte la colonie en 1760.  Elle est aussi à  la source des communautés francophones actuelles de l’Amérique du Nord.

 

La marine marchande française compte 750 navires en 1688 et 1800 en 1738.  Le commerce colonial s’accroà®t rapidement.  Puisque les marchands souhaitent obtenir davantage d’information en provenance des colonies et des intervalles plus rapprochés, ils rédigent davantage de lettres.

 

En l’absence d’un service postal transatlantique, les marchands conçoivent des moyens de gérer le courrier et réussissent à  surmonter les contraintes saisonniѐres et les risques de la navigation en haute mer.  Advienne que pourra, Bordeaux, Louisbourg et Québec restent en constante communication.

 

Le transport maritime et la pêche sont les piliers économiques d’une ville comme Louisbourg.  Cette ville est à  la croisée du commerce et des communications de la région de l’Atlantique, et les navires peuvent s’y rendre 12 mois par année.  Le courrier envoyé de France à  Québec peut arriver via Louisbourg à  bord d’une petite goélette canadienne durant l’été et par voie terrestre en hiver.  Les courriers hivernaux ne sont pas rapides, mais ils sont fort bienvenus.  Un tel courrier quitte La Rochelle le 6 novembre 1756 et arrive à  Louisbourg le 30 janvier.  Quatre jours plus tard, le 3 février, il est envoyé à  Québec et y arrive en avril.  Les Québécois peuvent enfin savourer des nouvelles fraà®ches…vieilles de six mois!

 

Abraham Gradis (1699-1780) est un négociant de Bordeaux qui participe activement à  l’économie transatlantique, du Canada à  Louisbourg, au nord, jusqu’aux Antilles françaises.  Sa société fournit les magasins du roy au Canada.

 

Sans un flot continu de lettres, transportées par des navires, pour distribuer argent, avis, cadeaux et biens de commerce, Gradis n’aurait jamais pu exercer un contrà´le efficace sur ses activités depuis la France.  François Bigot, l’intendant de la Nouvelle-France, compte parmi ses partenaires.

 

Le golfe du Saint-Laurent est la voie de passage du Canada.  Durant l’été, les navires y passent à  leur aller-retour de Québec.  L’hiver, le grand fleuve est fermé à  la navigation.  Les derniers navires à  quitter Québec le font trѐs tard en octobre.  Les premiers qui arrivent au cap Diamant y parviennent en juin ou en juillet.  Sauf exception, il n’y a pas de courrier l’hiver.

 

 

La guerre de l’Indépendance américaine (1755-1783) anéantit le premier Empire britannique, mais l’effet immédiat de cette révolution sur le Canada est l’accroissement de la population.  Le Québec, l’Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick et la Nouvelle-Écosse sont inondés de réfugiés loyaux à  la Grande-Bretagne.  Le Québec est divisé en deux : le Haut Canada devient en majeure partie britannique et protestant, tandis que le Bas Canada demeure principalement français et catholique.

…..

Déplacements

 

 

 

On marche beaucoup en Nouvelle-France.  Les citadins se déplacent généralement à  pied et les voyages en forêt exigent de longs portages.  En dehors des villes, le réseau routier se résume, au XVIIe siѐcle, aux sentiers des Amérindiens et aux bouts de chemins unissant les habitations dispersées le long du fleuve.

 

Il faut attendre les années 1730 pour qu’une premiѐre route, le chemin du roy, joigne Québec à  Montréal.  Cette route, que les autorités jugent essentielle au commerce et à  l’occupation du territoire, permet d’effectuer le trajet en quatre jours au lieu de huit par voie d’eau.

Lors de la construction des routes, chaque habitant doit défricher la partie qui traverse sa terre et participer aux corvées publiques.  Plusieurs refusent, prétextant que le canot leur suffit pour se rendre au marché ou à  l’église.

 

Ci-contre, un des étalons que Louis le Grand fit

 envoyer avec soixante belles juments vers 1675.

  

Les premiers chevaux seraient venus de Perche.  à€ la ville, ce sont surtout les charretiers et les membres de l’élite qui les utilisent.  à€ la campagne, les habitants s’en servent comme vêtes de trait et pour la promenade.  Ils les apprécient tellement que les autorités veulent en limiter le nombre parce qu’ils enlѐvent de la nourriture aux bêtes à  cornes et rendent les gens paresseux.

 

à€ compter de 1697, un messager royal transporte les dépêches royales entre Québec et Montréal, principal axe de communication de la colonie.  Pedro Dasilva, également appelé le Portugais, est le premier à  occuper ce poste.  Sen gendre, Jean Moran, lui succédera.

Les lettres sont souvent portées par des messagers autochtones qui ont une connaissance approfondie du pays.

Les messagers autochtones qui ont des jambes solides et des canots légers.  C’est à  eux qu’on confie la transmission de toutes les nouvelles – bonnes et mauvaises, orales et écrites, légales et illégales.  Ils parcourent les principaux sentiers continentaux entre le Canada et les endroits à  l’est et au sud de la colonie.

Apparence

La notion de propreté, aux XVIIe  et XVIIIe siѐcles, repose sur l’apparence, c’est-à -dire la tenue vestimentaires, les perruques et les cosmétiques.

 

Les plus riches font volontiers étalage de leurs nombreux vêtements.  Ils changent souvent leur chemise de corps, censée absorber la sueur et nettoyer la crasse.  Ils ont recours à  des parfums de toutes sortes dont ils s’aspergent le corps et qui imprѐgnent vêtements, perruques,  mouchoirs, dentelles et gants.  Ces parfums serviraient à  camoufler les odeurs fortes des corps mal lavés.

 

La majorité de la population ne peut cependant se procurer ni artifices ni vêtements en grand nombre : on porte longtemps le même linge.  Les effluves qui s’en dégagent font partie de la palette des odeurs de l’époque.  Dans ce dessin de Basi Hall, le voyageur accompagnant le capitaine Franklin, on peut remarquer qu’on se contente généralement d’épouiller et de peigner les cheveux, qui sont portés soit en forme de tresse, soit long et tombant sur les épaules.

Le climat et les fréquents déplacements amѐnent les immigrants à  adopter des vêtements plus fonctionnels.  Dѐs 1660, des hommes s’habillent « à  la canadienne Â»: aux marins, ils empruntent mitaines, bonnets et capots de laine; aux Amérindiens, mocassins, bottes et mitasses, souvent confectionnés avec des tissus et des cuirs européens.

Les femmes, à  cause de leur travail plus sédentaire, conservent davantage leur vêtement français.  Fiѐres et coquettes, elles sont à  l’écoute de ce qui se passe en France.  Au XVIIIe siѐcle, elles délaissent les étoffes aux tons unis pour arborer les cotonnades et les toiles  aux couleurs vives qui envahissent alors le marché.

 

Ce dessin ci-contre illustre la tenue huronne avant 1750.

Parmi les marchandises de traite, les Amérindiens s’intéressent d’abord aux objets de parure, aux armes à  feu et à  la quincaillerie.  Puis, au XVIIIe siѐcle, les textiles dominent nettement les échanges, en particulier les draps (rouges ou bleus), les couvertures et les capots de laine, les manches  de serge et les chemises de toile écrue.

 

 

 

Villes

 

Les habitants vivent généralement dans les limites d’un établissement rural comprenant de 10 à  50 censives (propriétés).  Celles-ci bordent les rives du Saint-Laurent, telle une rue de village.  Grâce aux messagers royaux, les nouvelles voyagent rapidement le long de la principale route coloniale, le chemin du roy.

 

Les premiers établissements connurent une croissance lente sous le régime français.  De nombreuses menaces –maladies, incendies, guerres, famines – prélevaient réguliѐrement leur tribut dans la petite population.  Pour survivre, il fallait vivres les uns prѐs des autres.  Au milieu du XVIIIe siѐcle, les bâtiments commerciaux, résidentiels, militaires et institutionnels étaient construits cà´te à  cà´te, ce qui rendait la vie quotidienne plus facile à  organiser et moins dangereuse.

 

Les villes sont les plaques tournantes des communications.  Les avis royaux y sont proclamés.  Rumeurs et correspondances commencent et finissent à  Montréal et à  Québec, véritables  carrefours d’échanges.

 

Les villes de la Nouvelle-France concentrent les pouvoirs administratifs, militaires, économiques et religieux.  Conseillers du roi, fonctionnaires, officiers militaires et de justice, marchands et membres du clergé y élisent donc domicile.  Les villes sont aussi les principaux centres de distribution de biens et de services de toutes sortes.

 

Ces fonctions exigent une main-d’Å“uvre considérable.  D’abord des gens de services, notamment des commis, des domestiques et des esclaves au service de l’élite, mais aussi des charretiers, des pilotes, des aubergistes, des bouchers, des boulangers, des médecins et des notaires.    Ensuite, des gens de métiers, parmi lesquels dominent les artisans de la construction, du fer et du vêtement.

 

Ces travailleurs comptent souvent pour plus de la moitié de la population des villes.

 

Distribution des terres

 

Le régime seigneurial est le fondement du droit de propriété. 

 

Les représentants du roi distribuent des seigneuries aux seigneurs, qui concѐdent des terres (censives) aux colons, appelés « censitaires Â».  Ces derniers payent une rente annuelle, le « cens Â». Lors du transfert de la terre, le nouveau propriétaire doit payer une rente perpétuelle –sorte de taxe de mutation, en plus du cens et des redevances annuelles.

 

Seigneurs et censitaires sont liés par des droits et des devoirs, comme en Europe.  Par exemple, le seigneur a le devoir de construire un moulin à  farine et le censitaire celui d’y faire moudre son grain.  En guise de paiement, le seigneur prélѐvera la quatorziѐme partie de la farine moulue.

 

 

Cette carte montre la distribution des principales seigneuries avant 1755.  Au fil des ans, par vente ou héritage, ces seigneuries sont transmises et parfois morcelées.  L’Église et les communautés religieuses possѐdent les plus vastes, dont celle de la Petite-Nation, dans la vallée de l’Outaouais, attribuée à  monseigneur de Laval en 1674.

 

Le « terrier Â» est un terme ancien, employé pour désigner les documents relatifs à  la propriété des terres et les cartes ou plans de répartition de ces terres.  Les premiers rangs situés sur les rives du fleuve Saint-Laurent sont généralement découpés en bandes parallѐles, orientées nord-ouest et sud-est.  Ce paysage existe encore de nos jours.

 

D’autre part, on remarque des exceptions et des adaptations sur les riviѐres adjacentes, comme aux Trois-Riviѐres ou sur la riviѐre Beauport.  De plus, dѐs 1666, l’intendant Talon avait conçu le projet de grouper les habitants de Bourg-Royal, de Bourg-la-Reine et de Bourg=Talon (Charlesbourg) dans des villages en forme d’étoile pour  mieux les protéger des attaques iroquoises.

 

 

Écrire une lettre

 

Écrire est un geste physique.  La main qui se déplace sur la page et en lisse la surface, tempe la plume dans l’encrier maintes fois.  L’encre est mélangée et versée dans l’encrier.  Le papier est poudré pour faire sécher l’encre.  Les erreurs sont effacées avec un grattoir aux rebords aiguisés.  Le pli est scellé avec de la cire fondue et, pour finir, un sceau marque cette cire chaude.

Voilà , la lettre est prête à  partir.

 

La France a le bonheur de posséder une tradition riche en échanges épistolaires et commerciaux, messagers et voyageurs assurant la circulation du courrier sur les axes routiers et fluviaux du pays.  En Nouvelle-France, par contre, chemins et routes sont trѐs rares, et il faut créer de toutes piѐces les réseaux de transport et de communication.

 

Un service postal officiel? Rien de tel en Nouvelle-France.  Pourtant, nombreuses sont les lettres qui traversent l’Atlantique ou circulent tout le long du Saint-Laurent et à  travers le continent.  Grâce aux efforts de correspondants et de voyageurs, tant autochtones que non autochtones, le courrier arrive à  destination.

 

Il est possible de raconter l’histoire de la communication en Nouvelle-France à  partir de divers poins de vue : les liens transatlantiques, les messagers et les parcours continentaux, et la circulation de l’information sur les rives du Saint-Laurent.  Commençons par l’abc de la correspondance.

 

La justice

 

Au XVIIIe siѐcle, lorsque toutes les instances judiciaires sont mises en place, le systѐme comprend trois domaines : la haute justice, o๠l’on reçoit les causes en appel; la justice de premiѐre instance, qui comprend un tribunal ecclésiastique, un tribunal de l’Amirauté et des tribunaux de juridiction royale; tout en bas de la structure, la justice seigneuriale, qui peut en appeler aux tribunaux de juridiction royale.  Les cours de juridiction royale sont les plus actives parce qu’elles sont présentes dans les principales villes de chaque partie de la Nouvelle-France – Louisbourg, l’Acadie, le Canada, la Louisiane -  et qu’elles jugent autant les causes civiles que criminelles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Le pilori double, tel qu’utilisé en 1818 est utilisé pour exposer la personne fautive aux yeux de la population afin de porter atteinte à  sa réputation.  à€ l’occasion, un carcan de fer comme ceux fabriqués aux forges du Saint-Maurice, sert à  attacher par le cou le prisonnier.  Les portes de prison datent de la même période.

 

Comme en Europe, la justice est exemplaire.  Fouet, fer à  marquer, carcan, pilori et pendaison sont autant de peines qui témoignent d’un trait de la mentalité de l’époque : la familiarité avec la violence, le sang et la mort.

 

La justice se veut toutefois plus égalitaire et plus accessible qu’en France.  à€ cet effet, on apporte sur place des changements; on ne peut plus acheter les fonctions liées à  la justice, comme cela se fait en France; on interdit les avocats, accusés de provoquer des « chicanes Â» et de retarder les procѐs; on prolonge les délais habituellement accordés à  certaines causes afin de tenir compte des distances et du climat et on accepte l’absence de témoins pour les mêmes raisons.

 

Malgré ces mesures, le rêve d’une meilleure justice ne se réalise pas pleinement.  Les accusés sont privés d’un conseiller ou d’un défenseur, les mieux nantis font plus facilement appel au systѐme judiciaire et les citadins jouissent d’un meilleur accѐs à  la justice, la plupart des tribunaux se situant en ville.

 

 

Autres informations

Cliquez sur votre choix

Occupation de la Nouvelle-France,

Commerçants,

Premiѐres industries

Nourriture

Personnalités

Acadiens

Routes vers les Etats-Unis

Santé

Instruction

Culture

Religion

 

 

Retour à  la page Mes ancêtres

 

 

© 2017 Mes Ancêtres