Source : Canadian Museum of Civilization Corporation

 

 

Emigrating to New France

 

Future settlers of New France leave villages of Northern and Western France. They leave alone, with their family or in small groups. They are mostly natives of the Poitou, of Charente, Normandie, the Perche, the Aunis or l’àŽle de France.

The Harbour of Saint-Malo watched Jacques Cartier and the fishermen of the 16th century leaving, Honfleur hailed the departure of Samuel de Champlain, but in the 17th century, it is La Rochelle and Dieppe which see the future settlers embarking for New France. Most of them are soldiers, workmen or servants who have signed contracts with recruiters, shipowners or merchants, and have agreed to experience life in the new colony. They are the hired hands (engagés).

Year after year, big companies bring only a few dozen settlers. Between 1663 and 1673, Louis XIV personally contributes to the recruitment of several hundred filles du roy. They are destined to marry settlers in the colony where there are very few women of marriageable age. The population grows when in 1665 soldiers from the régiment de Carignan-Saliѐres are sent in because of Iroquois attacks. Of the thousand soldiers who disembarked at that time, nearly four hundred accept the land or the allowances issued to encourage them to establish themselves in the colony and start families.

Aside from these two groups of emigrants given these unusual bonuses, and the first Montrealers who were partial to the Ville-Marie project, the ordinary settler chooses to come to New France because he sees other personal advantages. He may have been recruited by agents, seigneurs, or other settlers who guaranteed him a decent salary. Once the social substructure had been laid and the population had grown, the family influenced the migration process. More than half of the new settlers are accompanied by a relation and many join relatives already settled in Canada.

 

© 2018 Mes Ancêtres

Source: Société du Musée canadien des civilisations

 

 

Émigrer en Nouvelle-France

 


 

 

Les futurs colons de Nouvelle-France quittent des villages du nord et de l'ouest de la France. Ils partent seuls, avec leur famille ou par petits groupes. Ils sont principalement originaires du Poitou, de Charente, de Normandie, du Perche, de l'Aunis ou de l'àŽle de France.

Le port de Saint-Malo a vu partir Jacques Cartier et les pêcheurs du 16e siѐcle, Honfleur, a salué le départ de Samuel de Champlain, mais au 17e siѐcle, c’est à  La Rochelle et à  Dieppe qu’on assiste aux embarquements des futurs colons. La plupart d’entre eux sont des soldats, des ouvriers ou des domestiques qui, par le biais d’un contrat les liant à  un recruteur, un armateur ou à  un marchand ont accepté de faire l’expérience d’un séjour dans la colonie. Ce sont les engagés.

Bon an, mal an, les grandes compagnies, ont transporté quelques dizaines de futurs colons. Entre 1663 et 1673, Louis xiv contribue personnellement au recrutement de plusieurs centaines de filles du roy. Elles sont destinées à  s’unir aux habitants de la colonie qui compte peu femmes en âge de se marier. Les guerres iroquoises entraà®nent, en 1665, l’envoi de soldats du régiment de Carignan-Saliѐres. stimulent le peuplement. Du millier de soldats débarqués alors, prѐs de quatre cents vont accepter les terres et les allocations qui leur sont distribuées pour s’établir dans la colonie et y fonder une famille.

Exception faite de ces deux groupes d’émigrants auxquels on a accordé des gratifications exceptionnelles, et des premiers Montréalais qui ont été sensibles au projet de Ville-Marie, le colon ordinaire est venu vivre en Nouvelle-France parce qu’il y voyait des avantages personnels. Il a pu être recruté par des agents, des seigneurs ou par d’autres colons qui lui assuraient un salaire décent. Quand les bases de la société ont été jetées et la population devenue plus nombreuse, la famille a influencé le processus de migration. Plus de la moitié des nouveaux colons étaient accompagnés d'un proche et plusieurs ont rejoint un parent déjà  installé au Canada

 

© 2017 Mes Ancêtres