Joseph, the First Choquet

in the United States ?

I-1351

1719-1759

 

With the help of one of our collaborators, Patricia Weeks, from Dana Point, California, we were able to trace back to the person we believe is the first Choquet to emigrate to the United States : Joseph Choquet, son of Julien Choquet and Françoise Daudelin, and grandson of  Nicolas, our ancestor. From the data supplied by Pat Weeks, we were able to write down this story.  Keep in mind that most of the time, we had to make presumptions based on the available facts.

 

 From Varennes, Quebec to Kaskaskia, Missouri.

Joseph was born in Varennes, Quebec in 1719.  In 1747, he married Marie-Rose De Guire, in the village of Kaskaskia.  Patricia has given us information about this village located in Illinois Country:

“After LaSalle, Marquet and Tonti, Father Marest chose the Indian village of Kaskaskia in 1702 to establish his mission close to the Illinois tribe.  Kas is on the east coast of the Mississippi River, in Illinois about 60 miles (100 km) south of St. Louis, Missouri.  One of the reasons for this location was the fact that French people were already living among the Indians there.  Kaskaskia, also called “the establishment” or “Kas,” was a place where travelers could take refuge on fur shipping trips, and on the way to Biloxi, a French post on the Gulf of Mexico.”

 

 Fort de Chartres and Ste-Genevieve Fondation

Joseph Choquet and Marie-Rose De Guire probably moved to Fort de Chartres shortly thereafter, since this is where their first child, Marie-Josephe, was born in 1748. Pat tells us more about this post:


“Right after 1720, France became preoccupied with the risk of invasion by the Spanish in this central sector.  The John Law Group decided to finance more posts to garrison soldiers for the protection of the fur trade.  Fort de Chartres was built about halfway between Cahokia and Kaskaskia.”

« These small communities grew and became very profitable and important because the French who lived there, (about 90% French Canadian, not European or Acadian),  worked the land to provide flour and lead for the Gulf Coast and the Mid-West regions, as well as for the French & Indian War effort.  On the west coast of Mississippi, the French community founded Kas and Fort de Chartres, which is now called St. Genevieve (in Missouri), a charming and beautiful town still attached to its French Canadian past.”

It is possible that Joseph and Marie-Rose were among those who moved to St. Geneviѐve from Fort de Chartes, because their third child, Julian, was born there  in 1755.

 Meeting in St-Louis…

« LaClede and Chouteau came from New Orleans in 1764 (which was not established until 1721), and chose the opposite side of Cahokia to found St-Louis, Missouri.  France ceded these possessions to Spain.  The “Americans” were moving in ever closer from the East.  The French population found itself saying, “Why not move to the other side of the river where we could be governed by a Catholic country?”.  And so most of them moved across the river to the west coast of the Mississippi, while St. Genevieve and St. Louis began to develop rapidly.”

This is exactly what happened  because Julian, (4th generation of the Choquets in North America), and his wife, Marie-Louise Boyer, had 11 children after settling in the St. Genevieve/St. Louis area at the end of the 1700’s and the beginning of 1800’s.

 A long trip towards Louisiana…

During this time (1755-1759), it seems that Joseph moved to Pointe Coupée in the Baton Rouge’s bishop in Louisiana.  Following the death of Marie-Rose De Guire, Joseph married Marie Anne Decoux on May 15, 1759.  He died a few months later and was buried in Pointe Coupée on December 26, 1759.

« Pointe Coupée is now part of New Orleans, close to Baton Rouge.  It’s now called New Roads. It was established in early 1720,  mostly for its land.  Several Acadians came to live there afterwards.  Most of the settlers came from France as servants on contract with the John Law Company.  Several beautiful plantation homes were built in that region by those French settlers.

Since Pointe Coupée is quite far from St. Genevieve, it would be interesting to know what motivated Joseph to undertake such a journey.

 Other links:

Illinois Country :

Indians of Illinois :

Genealogy, groups and books :

·         Our collaborator , Pat Weeks is editor of the South Orange County California Genealogy Society's newsletter.

  • Center for French Colonial Studies, 339 St. Mary's Rd, Ste. Genevieve, MO. 63670
  • La population des forts français d'Amérique (XVIIIe siѐcle), by Marthe Faribault-Beauregard, Éditions Bergeron, vol. 1, 1982; vol. 2, 1984.

 


Return to Choquet-te history

 

Source : http://www.choquet-te.org/francais/joseph.html

 

© 2017 Mes Ancêtres

Joseph, le premier Choquet
aux États-Unis ?

Grâce à  l'une de nos collaboratrices Patricia Weeks, de Dana Point, Californie, nous avons retracé le cheminement de celui que nous croyons être le tout premier Choquet à  émigrer aux États-Unis : Joseph Choquet, fils de Julien Choquet et Françoise Daudelin, et petit-fils de Nicolas, notre ancêtre. En analysant les données que Pat Weeks nous a gentiment fait parvenir, nous avons essayé d'écrire cette histoire. Gardez bien à  l'esprit le fait que la plupart du temps nous avons extrapolé.

De Varennes à  Kaskaskia.

Joseph est né à  Varennes, Québec, en 1719. En 1747, il s'est marié à  Marie-Rose De Guire, dans le village de Kaskaskia. Patricia nous donne des informations au sujet de ce village, situé dans la région dite Illinois Country, la contrée des Illinois.:

"Aprѐs LaSalle, et Marquet, et Tonti, en 1702 le pѐre Marest choisit le village autochtone de Kaskaskia pour établir sa mission auprѐs des tribus Illinois. Kas est du cà´té Est du Mississippi, dans le présent État de l'Illinois, environ 60 miles (100 km) au sud de la ville de St Louis Missouri. Une des raisons pour lesquelles il choisit cet endroit était dà» au fait que des français y demeuraient déjà  au milieu des autochtones. Kaskaskia, aussi nommé "l'établissement" ou "Kas", était l'endroit pour chercher refuge durant les voyages pour livrer les fourrures ou pour rejoindre Biloxi, le poste français du Golfe du Mexique."

L'établissement de Fort de Chartres et Ste. Geneviѐve

Joseph Choquet et Marie-Rose De Guire ont probablement déménagé au Fort de Chartres peu de temps aprѐs, car c'est le lieu de naissance de leur premier enfant, Marie-Josѐphe, en 1748. Pat nous en dit plus à  propos de ce poste :


"Aprѐs 1720, la France devint préoccupé par l'invasion des Espagnols dans ce secteur central, et le groupe John Law décidât de financer d'autres postes. Le Fort de Chartres fà»t bâtit pour les soldats qui étaient stationnés pour protéger le commerce des fourrures de la région, environ mi-chemin entre Cahokia et Kaskaskia.

"Ces minuscules communautés se sont agrandis et devinrent trѐs importantes, parce que les français qui s'y établirent (et ils étaient 90% canadien-français, non français d'Europe ou acadien) développѐrent une source agraire trѐs profitable, alimentant les cà´tes du Golfe, la région du Mid-West, les efforts de guerres françaises-autochtones avec de la farine et du plomb. Du cà´té Ouest du Mississippi, l'établissement d'une communauté par les français de Kas et Fort De Chartres, etc. que l'on appelait Ste-Genevieve (maintenant dans l'état du Missouri). Une ville charmante, pittoresque et attaché à  son passé canadien-français."

Probablement que Joseph et Marie-Rose firent parti de ceux qui déménagѐrent de Fort de Chartres à  Ste. Geneviѐve, parce que leur troisiѐme enfant, Julian, y est né en 1755.

Rencontre à  St Louis...

"LaClede et Chouteau vinrent de la Nouvelle Orléans en 1764 (qui ne fà»t pas établie avant 1721) et choisirent le site du cà´té opposé à  Cahokia pour bâtir leur ville de St Louis, Missouri. La France cédât ses possessions à  l'Espagne, les "Américains" s'approchaient en provenance de l'Est, et la population française se dit "pourquoi ne pas se déplacer de l'autre cà´té du fleuve oà¹, au moins nous serons gouverné par un pays catholique" C'est alors que la majorité des gens traversa sur la cà´te Ouest du Mississippi, et Ste. Geneviѐve et St Louis se développѐrent."

C'est exactement ce qui se produisit, parce que, Julian (4e génération de Choquet en Amérique du nord) et sa femme, Marie-Louise Boyer, ont eu 11 enfants, qui s'établirent dans la région de Ste. Geneviѐve/St. Louis, fin 1700 et début 1800.

Un long trajet vers la Louisiane...

Pendant ce temps, il semble qu'entre 1755 et 1759, Joseph déménageât plus au sud, à  Pointe Coupée, diocѐse de Baton Rouge, Louisiane. Sa premiѐre femme, Marie-Rose De Guire ayant décédé, les documents montrent que Joseph se remariât avec Marie Anne Decoux, le 15 mai 1759. Il mourà»t quelques mois plus tard, et fà»t enterré à  Pointe Coupée le 26 décember 1759.

"Pointe Coupée fait maintenant partie de la Nouvelle Orléans, tout prѐs de Baton Rouge. Aujourd'hui, la ville principale se nomme New Roads. Etablie au début des années 1720, principalement agraire, plusieurs acadiens s'y installѐrent peu aprѐs. La plupart des premier colons venaient de France, engagé comme serviteurs par contrats avec la John Law Company. Les maisons de certaines des belles vieilles plantations furent construites par des français qui demeurѐrent dans la région."

Puisque Pointe Coupée n'est certainement pas à  la porte de Ste. Geneviѐve, il serait trѐs intéressant de connaà®tre ce qui a motivé Joseph à  entreprendre un tel voyage...

Autres liaisons :

Sur la contrée de l'Illinois :

Sur les amérindiens de l'Illinois :

Liaisons généalogiques, organismes et livres :

  • Notre collaboratrice, Pat Weeks est éditrice du South Orange County California Genealogy Society's newsletter.
  • Rejoindre le Center for French Colonial Studies, 339 St. Mary's Rd, Ste. Genevieve, MO. 63670
  • Lire La population des forts français d'Amérique (XVIIIe siѐcle), by Marthe Faribault-Beauregard, Éditions Bergeron, vol. 1, 1982; vol. 2, 1984.


Retour aux histoires de Choquet-te

 

Source : http://www.choquet-te.org/francais/joseph.html

 

© 2017 Mes Ancêtres